Top 5 Reasons Star Wars Battlefront Will Suck

UPDATE 10/8/15: Read my firsthand impressions fresh off playing the beta!

It’s a sad day when I have to make this article. Battlefront, as a series, is one my favorite of all time, if not my number one pick. The first two games were absolute masterpieces, and after seeing the rubbish Star Wars Battlefront Hoth demo at E3 2015, I reinstalled SWBF2 just to see how poorly the series’ reboot stacked up. Turns out, the original two are still as fun as ever and the reboot’s situation is worse than I thought.no_text_-_Star_Wars_Battlefront_Key_Art.0.0

5.) DLC plans before the game launches. Now, this is pretty low on the list since it’s (sadly) become industry standard, but that doesn’t mean it’s not sickening, still. The question jingling around in my head right now is, what content is being preemptively cut to be sold back to us as DLC? Which maps are being developed but won’t be included in the base $59.99 game even though they’ll be done before release?

4.) It’s made by DICE. These guys are very good at what they do, which is one thing in particular: making first person Battlefield games. Not third/first person-meshing BattleFRONT games. The footage that’s been shown already reeks of what looks like a Star Wars themed Battlefield knock-off, because that’s all it’s going to be, if we’re honest with ourselves. It’s not going to recapture the magic of the originals. Not to mention Hoth’s map design from the E3 demo looks awful. In the originals, Hoth was a sprawling, wide map of ice and snow that mixed tight corridor battles with tons of room for open, snowy field conflict. The E3 demo has the AT-AT’s walking down single file lanes like we’re in a fucking bowling alley, and an absurd overemphasis on trench warfare. That is not Hoth.

3.) Barely any content included with the game. We’re talking a handful of multiplayer maps (eight, if we’re lucky?) and a few throwaway single player/co-op missions. That’s it. Like, even Titanfall had the smarts to include 15 multiplayer maps out of the gate. This is just despicable, considering it’s going to go for full retail price. We’re reaching Evolve levels of bullshit here (that game just announced its second season pass by the way, lmfao).

2.) No space battles, no single player campaign, no Republic era factions. So, on top of having very little content to begin with, this all comes at the cost of cutting out some of the best aspects of SWBF1 and 2, specifically Battlefront 2‘s amazing space combat. We will not be flying transport ships into enemy carrier hangars and setting loose Rebel brigades aboard Imperial Star Destroyers. Not to mention we won’t even be allowed to play as the clones or CIS, meaning no droidekas (the best class in the entire series), no General Grievous, no bad-ass green plated clone jet troopers, none of it.

1.) Everything, absolutely everything, is wrong with it. They are tarnishing a legacy, solely to get this game out by the time Star Wars Episode 7 lands in theatres so they can make a quick license cash-in buck. It’s disgusting, looking at the corners they are cutting. No space battles, no Republic era, no single player campaign, no offline instant action mode, the third person perspective looks gimped beyond belief, the map design we’ve seen so far is appalling, there’s LITERALLY NO NEW FEATURES to the core gameplay (at the end of the E3 demo it ended with a pre-rendered clash between Vader and Luke, but I doubt they’ll even include Jedi v Sith capabilities in the game. And even if they did, Star Wars Battlefront 2 already beat them to it), and the overall thing is just turning out to be a travesty. If I can play as an Ewok with 4K resolution hair follicles thanks to shiny 2015 graphics, that’ll be the only saving grace in this embarrassment of a reboot.

18 Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Bobbi's Blog.

  2. Now be fair: the space battles in Battlefront 2 sucked.

    • Are we talking about the same game? Tell me you played the PC version.

    • What the fuck…? That was the best game for space battling you could play on a console. I can only think of one other game with awesome space battles, and that was Freelance. And yet, with Battlefield 2, you could do both space battles AND ground fights.

  3. […] accurately figure out my opinions on a game just by watching, as my impressions when I posted my Top 5 Reasons Star Wars Battlefront Will Suck post turned out to be entirely accurate to how I feel now, fresh off having played the beta […]

  4. I too just played the beta, and I am so disappointed. Weapons and vehicles as pickups? Weak. Also, no season pass suggests to me that they think we are all suckers who will want to pay a premium for every map pack that comes out. I was all set to purchase it, until I played a bit of the beta, it really does feel like half the game of the predecessors.

    • It’s a beta, of course it would be less than half the game. Wanna know what the good thing about this beta is? It’s free, and because you played it (I suggest playing more than “a bit,” you can also share your feedback about the game and how it can be better, rather than writing a comment on some biased blog.

      • I think one piece of feedback from his comment that can be easily inferred is for DICE to get rid of that stupid pickup token system.

      • The feedback is a complete farce. It’s like leaving a note on someone’s car after they caused an 8 car pile up, and it reads: sorry you had a bad day here, you could have been more authentic in the way you used for signal and the graphics on your car wasn’t quite up to snuff! So I’m not going to reccomend your driving skills to a friend.

        It’s only a beta? Guess what genius, it’s a beta released a month before the game launches.
        Contrary to what your imagination might be telling you – major fixes DO NOT happen a month before launch.

        Maybe if you read the article with some intelligence, you’d understand that this dude isn’t talking about the beta having fuck-all in it.
        He’s talking about the fact that the game is getting sold with EIGHT FUCKING MAPS, an embarrassing single player mode and zero campaign. That has NOTHING to do with the beta.
        Christ… It’s like talking to a toddler!

        If you’ll remember 3 months ago, battlefront wasn’t going to have a single player portion, at all.
        After 3 million people raged and told dice to go fuck themselves for that little blunder, they threw us a mouldy piece of dogshit called “survival mode”! Where the AI is about the worst I’ve ever seen in a game (excluding zombies); but don’t worry! You can check the box called: ‘single player is not fun’.
        Yeah they’re going to make a tonne of changes based on that comment.
        It’s so descriptive, how could they not improve it and save the day a month before launch!?

        Next time, do some research of your own.

  5. I tried it solely to see if I can run it on my old PC, and I can. I was so happy, I even considered buying it, but after I played a multipkayer match I was like “WTF is this shit?!”

    Just like the OP said – it feels like pkaying Battlefield with a Star Wars skin slapped on top of it. I might give it a go if it hits torrent trackers, not gonna spend money on this garbage.

    • You do what you gotta do, bro. And hey, they announced the season pass just yesterday btw! I was predicting this shit months in advance. So at the very least, yeah, don’t spend money on that garbage.

  6. One more thing I would have included as a major draw back to this game is that there are NO soldier classes, everyone is the same and the only unique thing to your character is making a fucking deck of cards… really? fucking cards? More over the vehicle system has been completely WRECKED. Instead of having that awesome team play dynamic of being able to have a copilot and fly speeders out of the hanger, you are now gimped down to picking up a random floating medallion IF you can get to one before you get shot and IF you survive the stupid “beam me up scotty” animation before you get in a vehicle because you can STILL get killed during that animation. This game got fucked hard.

    • There was only so much wrong with it that I could address in a single post, haha. You’re totally right, the lack of a class system is a MAJOR down, and the absence of dual-piloted snowspeeders is a massive “fuck you” to fans of the classics.

      Though, I almost started to enjoy activating the beam me up Scotty animation once I realized you could start it while jetpacking, making you virtually impossible to hit for the few seconds it takes.

  7. […] really shouldn’t be this angry, considering I predicted this shit months ago, but still. EA never fails to ease up on the fan […]

  8. I wish I played the beta first, I never would have bought this!!! Did the people at DICE bother to see the first 2 Battlefront games and why we liked them? No voice chat, no joystick support on PC? Realy?

    • I think DICE did bother to look, but after seeing the glory of the originals they were like “naaaah, fuck that” and created this using the limited time they had to develop in order to make a movie tie-in cash grab. At least you learned a valuable lesson from this: savor every beta you can get, as they are invaluable to saving money down the line on avoiding shoddy games.

  9. This game just sucks, what’s more I am a huge star wars fan…I have played multiplayer and the only semi fun I get out of it is flying a tie fighter, walker assault is OK, but what did I really pay $ for…would rather have spent it on something else, guess I shouldve waited but thinking star wars I was all in…side note if you play the speeder bike solo mission its immensely fun finding new ways to kill yourself….

Leave a Reply

