Review of “The Lego Movie”

Before I grumble and mumble about a movie starring a plastic Lego person, I want to mention that a sequel has officially been confirmed, now that this movie has grossed over two hundred million. Fun fact, it’s the second largest weekend gross in the month of February, right behind “The Passion of the Christ”. The more you know!

Image

Chris Pratt takes a break from fighting alongside Rocket Raccoon and Groot in The Guardians of the Galaxy to join forces with Morgan Freeman and Will Ferrell in the longest, most intense commercial you’ll ever have the pleasure of bringing your teething child to. The plot is simple (it better be for a movie about building blocks, amIrightguyz?): Emmet (Pratt), ordinary blocky construction worker, finds a magical red brick that makes him the chosen one, as declared by Vitruvius the wizard (Freeman). As the chosen one, his job is to stop Lord Business (Ferrell) from making everything orderly, organized and adult-ish.

This movie isn’t Toy Story, by any stretch of the imagination (it’s ironic because the movie is all about imagination, heh). The childish charm that can also appeal to an adult isn’t nearly as present, and is replaced by a sort of Lego charm that I’m not sure really appeals to anyone. I asked a kid in the theatre and he said it was a six and a half-ish out of ten, and I agreed whole-heartedly. Yes, there is substance and heart in this movie, it’s just buried somewhere under the thirteen mile concrete wall of product placement. Seriously, I feel that this movie would’ve felt more genuine if they’d stuck to generic Lego people, forgoing all of their super-awesome licensed Lego partnerships (I’m looking at you, Lego Batman). In fact, the only time I enjoyed seeing a licensed Lego product in the film was when, for less than half a second, a Bionicle poster showed up. I nearly shit myself when that happened. Meanwhile, all of the kids in the theatre who were too young to know what Bionicles were starred blankly until Lego Batman showed up again.

At the end of the day, I can’t hate on The Lego Movie too much, and I wouldn’t give it a rotten if this were Rotten Tomatoes. I mean, there are highlights, like the soundtrack and the last fifteen minutes of the film (especially the very last five seconds), but I wouldn’t want to pay more than matinee price if I had to go see it again.

One Response

  1. Reblogged this on Bobbi's Blog.

Leave a Reply

