Review of Ultimate Marvel VS. Capcom 3 for PS Vita

This game blew so hard on the Xbox. So hard. But the Vita version looked like a better package all around, what with its touchscreen controls and added game modes. Was the investment worth it? Was this the massively improved version of the biggest rip-off ever that I’d hoped for? Read on to find out!imagesCAOIL5F8

When it comes to king of suckery at fighter games, I rule the kingdom. Not only do I faulter hideously at blocking, but seeing me do a combo successfully is as rare as a good Twilight movie. Needless to say, I’m not the best player out there. In all honesty, I just like playing fighters, even though I suck horribly at them, which is why I bothered getting into MvC3 in the first place. Luckily for me, the PS Vita version successfully quenches my thirst for a Marvel and Capcom fighter while also providing a miracle switch for my hideous lack of fighter talent! This miracle switch is called touchscreen mode, and I whole-heartedly recommend you go out and get this game if you enjoy but suck at fighters like me. I’ll go further in-depth on this, but if that’s all you came here to find out, then that’s your answer. Anyway, the touchscreen controls are a Godsend, as all you have to do is repeatedly tap the enemy (or yourself) and flashy, fantastic combos will perform themselves in quick, lightning succession. It’s a flurry of images, sound effects and tapping, and it’s the sort of mindless fun I want my UMvC3 to be.

As far as other improvements go upon the original game, there’s this cool new mode that lets you play through a territory-control style minigame while achieving new turf by fighting others either online or off. It’s really neat, and if you have a clan or something similar, it’s a heck of a lot of fun. The basic modes from the orignal game are still present, and the overall package feels really solid.

Overall, Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 Vita Edition is just barely good enough for me to recommend you get it, even if you hated its console brethren. It’s not the all-inclusive package that you might get from, say, Persona 4 Arena, but it’s still a damn good time. For fighting game noobs or hardcore gamers who want some Capcom gaming on the go, this one’s a must.

Leave a Reply

