Review of Dishonored for Xbox 360

It’s a rare day I change my blog’s theme. Dishonored has earned that privilege, and I am happy to give this game the publicity it deserves.

Story: Corvo Attano, a royal bodyguard, becomes the royal asshat when he gets duped and framed for the Empress of Dunwall’s murder. A small band of loyalists sneak him out of jail, and from there it’s up to him to get revenge on his enemies and save the hier to the throne, Lady Emily.

Sound: There’s very little music, if any at all. But I’m assuming that’s so the game can showcase its witty, clever dialogue delivered by amazing voice actors. Really, the banter between friend and foe alike is enough to make you just sit in an area until the entire conversation is over, even if one guard is discussing something as trivial as “who’s stuff is bigger.” I’m not even kidding you. That’s in the game. Sound: 9.5/10

Presentation: As other reviewers have stated, it’s like looking at a gorgeous water-color painting that just oozes with style. All the visuals fuse together beautifully and create extremely vivid and interesting maps to traverse. The story is also well presented, and without spoilers, the ending(s) is fantastic. It’s concrete, doesn’t leave a lot to thought, and provides a sense of closure that I sure wish a lot of other games would. Presentation: 10/10

Gameplay: I’d compare this to fifty-five other games like everyone else does, but the more I play Dishonored the more I feel as though it’s its own thing. Sure, it borrows some fundamental controls from other games, but it does so many things originally that I feel comfortable calling it a completely unique gameplay experience. And that experience can be whatever you want it to be, to boot.
The game lets you choose exactly how you wish to play, whether that be non-lethally or Rambo-magician style, both of which have their pros and cons. Maps are designed so that you never have to choose one or the other, and allow you to combine both violent and passive abilities to play any level exactly how you want to. I never, not once, ran into a scenario where I HAD to kill someone, although taking that enemy out of the equation would’ve given me access to items that I wouldn’t otherwise be able to get to.
That’s pretty much the entire game in a nutshell, it’s six or one-half dozen however you choose to play. Want to slow time to a halt, shoot an enemy at point blank, unfreeze time and watch his body instantly soar five feet in a direction? That’s cool. Want to just ignore all the enemies completely, double jump and blink your way to the next location? Dishonored has you covered.
The game is always one step ahead of you, but never in such a way that things feel scripted or linear. And it’s because of that that I had such a fun time playing Dishonored. Yes, I could choose how to play, but there would always be a certain level of challenge waiting for me no matter how I went about an area.
My only possible gripe with the exhilarating gameplay is that the stealth mechanics can be a bit hit or miss once in a blue moon, as there are extremely rare occurances where enemies will be oblivious to you when you’re four feet away or see you from miles and signal an alarm. Again, these were extremely rare instances (maybe three cases in an entire playthrough) but still worth mentioning. Gameplay: 9.5/10

Multiplayer: N/A

Length: This game is designed to be replayed over and over. The first time you go through it, you might attempt to kill no one, which’ll bring you through entirely different areas of the game than if you’d blasted your way through main thoroughfares with no regard for stealth. These styles also affect the plot and ending of the game, so it’s encouraged that after your first 17+ hour playthrough you go back and try it again using different weapons, tactics and maneuvers to get the full experience of Dishonored. I, for one, can easily see myself doing three full playthroughs of this game and not becoming bored, and by then there’ll definitely be much wanted DLC released. Length: 9.5/10

Overall: Dishonored gets a kick-ass 9.6 runes out of 10. It definitely earns my Gamerrob seal of approval, and is easily topping my GOTY contender list as of right now. So go out, buy this game, and praise the developers for the coolest IP of 2012!

2 Responses

  1. Great review! I’m really getting anxious to play Dishonored, but I’m trying not to get too excited so I won’t be tempted to go out and spend sixty bucks on it. Besides some previous highly hyped/anticipated games (like Deus Ex: Human Revolution) have left me a bit cynical, and I try not to get my hopes up too high. These days I follow some advice I got from one of my coworkers at DISH and I don’t buy a game until after I’ve rented it and had a chance to log at least a handful of hours on it. It’s saved me a good deal of money in the past six months or so. So Dishonored is already in my Blockbuster @Home queue, and I’ll get to play it soon; I’m still busy with Borderlands 2 anyway.

    • I really, strongly recommend you go out and spend the full $60 on it, as it’s the only game this year so far that I can actually say is original and worth the money

Leave a Reply

