Wii U NYCC 2012 Demo Analysis

Is the Wii U Nintendo’s trump card back into the gaming world? From what I played, not really.

Now, disclaimer: I only played one game, which was the new Wario title. It’s a collection of minigames that are obviously centered around the Wii U’s unique control scheme. And the minigames were cute, don’t get me wrong. It was a blast rubbing an arrow with Wario’s nose on it, firing it with the Wii U game pad and watching it blow up fifty-some enemies on the TV screen.
After I walked away from the collection of minigames, I felt two things. The first being pain in my neck from having to look back and forth between screens so often, but the second is disoriented/empty. By that, I mean that it didn’t feel like a fufilling gameplay experience. It felt more like a fun arcade diversion that couldn’t possibly be considered a substantial gaming console for my living room TV.
That could all be because of the one particular game I played, and maybe ports such as Batman Arkham City would completely change my opinion, but that’s where I stand as of now.
Stay tuned for more demo reviews from my trip at NYCC 2012!

Leave a Reply

