Review of Blockbuster 1 Month Game Pass

For $15 a month, is Blockbuster’s Game Pass worth your money? Read on to find out!

Blockbuster’s 1 Month Game Pass is a $15 service that lets you get one game out at a time, and then return it for another one. This review will cover the essentials to knowing if this pass is worth it for you, and is so how to use it to it’s full potential. Before getting this pass, you have to check your local Blockbuster’s game selections, because the pass is for one store specifically. Each location, in my experience, has had a lot of diversity. Some offer great Wii, Xbox 360 and PS3 games, while others offer an okay selection of those but also have DS games.

After finding a location that has a great selection, try and figure out what kind of games you’re interested in. By that, I mean do you like the newest game out or would you settle for an older title that you’ve been thinking about getting for a while? Experience from my best local location has taught me that about fifty percent of the time they’ll have a new release a day after launch, but the other half of the time they won’t have a game until it’s been weeks since launch. Because of this, you have to be interested in older games as well, to get a fair amount of gaming out of the pass. For me, this meant that after I beat Rayman Origins and no newer games had been shipped in, I had to find something a little older that looked interesting (Mass Effect 2, anyone?). Most major releases such as a new Call of Duty or Zelda game are usually fully stocked and ready to go a day after the official release date, but smaller titles such as Asura’s Wrath still have yet to appear at my local store.

On a final note, I personally found this pass totally worth it. For $15, with a Blockbuster fairly close to my home with a large library of games that I hadn’t yet played, I got exponentially more  playtime for my money’s worth. It’s all a  matter of what your local stores have, but if yours have at least a handful of games you’d like to try I highly recommend you get this pass. Also, I’m not sure if it’s just my location that’s this nice, but when I ran out of games to play with only a few days in the pass remaining, they let me take movies instead. So what’re you waiting for? Go get this pass!

Leave a Reply

